The Late Works: 77
Site Map
Title graphic: Frank Bridge: A Life in Brief
The Late Works: 78

Nonetheless, Bridge was elated at experiencing three major first performances in a little more than two months - There is a Willow grows Aslant a Brook at the Queen's Hall Promenade Concert on 20 August, conducted by himself, followed by the Third String Quartet (17 September) and finally Enter Spring (27 October) - and especially the quartet's performances at such important Continental musical centres as Vienna and Paris.

For his next work he returned to chamber music, composing the Rhapsody Trio for two violins and viola, which he completed by March 1928. Unfortunately, his attempts to interest Mrs Coolidge in the piece proved unsuccessful - it was overshadowed by its successor, the Second Piano Trio. As a result, although the trio received private performances during Bridge's lifetime, and Britten was present at one of these, it was never heard in public. It was Britten in fact who arranged for the first public performance to take place at the Aldeburgh Festival in 1965, following which he prepared the manuscript for publication (Faber, 1965).

The Second Piano Trio fared much better, and received its first performance at the Langham Hotel in London on 4 November 1929 with Antonio Brosa (violin), Anthony Pini (cello) and Harriet Cohen (piano). Two months earlier, Mrs Coolidge had arrived in England for an extended visit, the climax of which was this concert, consisting wholly of works dedicated to her. Bridge had spent some time coaching the players, Harriet Cohen admitting subsequently that she considered the work 'long and difficult'.4 However, the arduous preparation paid dividends, since the ensemble gave a very fine performance, and Bridge could not restrain his feelings of gratitude to Mrs Coolidge for her part in the proceedings:

4 H Cohen, A Bundle of Time, Faber, 1969, p 154.